How to Make the Most of Vacation Days

Some travelers come with a perfect itinerary ready to go, and others need a little more direction. One of the many ways travel advisors can use their expertise is by helping travelers make the most of their precious vacation days when planning a trip. From booking memorable family trips and romantic getaways to relaxing spa days and group events, we’ve rounded up all the ways to help them get more vacation time with fewer days off work.

Presidents’ Day: Take 1 day leave for 4 days off

Tack on a Friday to the Presidents’ Day long weekend and book a trip to Florida or Mexico for some much-needed heat.


Vacation from:

  • Friday, February 18 – Monday, February 21

Take off this date:

  • Friday, February 18

April Escape: Book 4 days leave for 9 days off

It’s the perfect long weekend for a romantic escape. A late spring trip to the Caribbean offers shoulder season prices, fewer crowds, and every-so slightly cooler weather (and by that we mean between 80 and 86 degrees). Plus, with hurricane season not starting for another few months, it’s one of the best times to go.

Vacation from:

  • Saturday, April 16 – Sunday April 24

Take off these dates:

  • Tuesday, April 19
  • Wednesday, April 20
  • Thursday, April 21
  • Friday, April 22

 

Memorial Day Getaway: Book 4 days leave for 9 days off

Spring has officially sprung, and warmer days are straight ahead. An extended Memorial Day weekend the chance to visit some vacation favorites before the season kicks into full gear.

Vacation from

  • Saturday, May 28- Sunday, June 5

Take off these dates:

  • Tuesday, May 31
  • Wednesday, June 1
  • Thursday, June 2
  • Friday, June 3

The Big Summer Trip: Book 9 days leave for 16 days off

It’s the best time of year for family vacations. Trade celebrating America for discovering Europe over the Fourth of July weekend.

Vacation from:

  • Saturday June 25- Sunday July 10

Take off these dates:

  • Monday, June 27
  • Tuesday, June 28
  • Wednesday, June 29
  • Thursday, June 30
  • Friday, July 1
  • Tuesday, July 5
  • Wednesday, July 6
  • Thursday, July 7
  • Friday, July 8

Labor Day Break: Book 1 day leave for 4 days off

A quick break from the routine is often all that’s needed. Take care of that travel craving with an extended Labor Day weekend to close out the summer. It’s the perfect time for one more golfing trip, one more yoga retreat, one more foodie extravaganza, one more hiking spree.

Vacation from:

  • Friday, September 2 – Monday, September 5

Take off this date:

  • Friday, September 2

 

Thankful for Travel: Book 1 day leave for 5 days off

There’s something about the Thanksgiving weekend that makes it feel just a little bit too short. Travelers can stretch things out with an extra day or two. Use the opportunity to book a visit with family, a quick trip to Mexico, or some new American destinations.

Vacation from:

  • Wednesday, November 23 – Sunday, November 27

Take off this date:

  • Wednesday, November 23

When helping clients book their vacations, it’s always helpful to point out the many ways they can maximize their valuable time off. Once you’re ready to book, contact a GOGO-back travel advisor to get started.